Today: The Value of Teaching

3 Dec

It’s a known fact that people have their favourite teachers at school. The one that lets you sit next to your friends and talk during class, gives you chocolates at the end of term and lets you watch a film in the last lesson.

My favourite teacher at secondary school was my physics teacher Mr. Jon Clarke, I had him for almost all 7 years of that time i spent at that ‘school’, he was one of the few consistent things i really had, one of the main reasons i am now studying physics and Astronomy.

I found my old year book when i was at home for a brief time over the summer, and i for the life of me cannot remember what he wrote, but everytime i think of it, it makes me smile. It’s rare you get somebody who is in that position of authority (at secondary school that is), that truely influences you in such a positive way. People only seem to remember the bad teachers. and they aren’t really the ones who put us here today.

I got alot of stick from my teachers (as i’ve said in a previous blog) nobody thought i would get into cardiff uni, and upon receival of my results they took me to one side and asked if i had contacted my second choice. I hadn’t and i wasn’t going to. Cardiff was my destination and I was getting there! Mr Clarke knew I could otherwise he wouldn’t have helped me sit an A-level in 1 year.

Now at uni, in my final year, counting the days down till the christmas break, i started to wonder who really were the ‘good’ lecturers/teachers i had here. Teaching is a different style at university, and even then that style is different from one lecturer to the next.

There are the lecturers which just talk at you. They require no real participation except mindless copying and listening to explanations and examples.

There are the lecturers who talk down to you. These i dislike the most. I get that they are cleverer than we are, but seriously, if you talk to me like that i will end up not paying any attention and not turning up to the lectures.

There are the lecturers which teach. They don’t leave to much to the imagination, just keep you that much outof the loop that if you stop paying attention, you’ll really miss the point.

There are the lecturers who couldn’t really care. They could be the most powerful person in the world but if they can’t be bothered to prepare, then why should we?

Then there are the lecturers who discuss with you. They are still lecturing, but it’s more an open topic. You ask questions and although the answer could be right or (in my case) wrong, they will entice the class to discuss why, and you learn new ways of thinking and new ways of looking at things.

 

Which one do I like the most? Well. That’s hopefully quite obvious.

In my 4 years at Cardiff I have come across all of these. You have different tactics for dealing with each, the assesment sheets, the revision classes, the exams, each require a different plan of attack. So although I may not know too much about Physics or Astronomy (I hope i know more than the average bear), I definately know how to get around most issues that come about. At least… I hope that’s what Applications of Quantum Mechanics hopes to acheive… because i have no idea what he is on about…..

2 Responses to “Today: The Value of Teaching”

  1. jimmy 04/12/2010 at 01:38 #

    harri….!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Today: The Value of Teaching « I Did That -- Topsy.com - 04/12/2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Harriet Parfitt, Harriet Parfitt. Harriet Parfitt said: #science #lecturers Today: The Value of Teaching: http://wp.me/p13Uop-2S […]

Leave a Reply

