Today: The let down

6 Jul

I say let down, not because I have let people around me down, but I have let myself down. Or at least that’s what it feels like.

I have been sticking well to the eating part of my diet, cutting down and having things on moderation has meant that I’m used to not eating much now, and its only a week and a half in.

Exercise is another matter unfortunately. As soon as I get home from work its like I just need to stop. Which means I dont do anything but housework or maybe popping to the shops for dinner. Which makes me feel quite disappointed with myself, because I was doing so well with my running, and I’ve only been out once since we moved in and it was so demoralising that I just don’t want to go again.

I also miss science, I really miss being in an environment where I learn new things everyday, or when I put my knowledge into practice.

Charlie and I have been planning starting a new website, aimed at gcse revision that uses current news stories to relate to topics. I get really excited and motivated to do it when I’m at work, but then I get home and I just want to crash out!!!

The blog site is set up, its just not live and has no content as of yet. I need to motivate myself to do about an hour a day when I get home, of the website that is, then half an hour of exercise in the home. Maybe I should get a workout dvd, or a kinect for the xbox.

Thing is, It’s all well and good me saying this when I am at work, its carrying it on when I’m home. That’s also a reason I haven’t blogged on here much!! Maybe I should get a star chart or something…

Has anybody else suffered through this type of lacking motivation? It just seems the more goals I miss the less motivated I become.

3 Responses to “Today: The let down”

  1. yuchiwa 06/07/2012 at 10:31 #

    Harriiiii! Ur not the only one! I am exactly the same. When I’m at work I thought of all these things I want to do, got quite a few personal projects on my mind that I want to work on to learn some more stuff at home and it could potentially improve my skills at work too but as soon as I get home… I end up on the couch and then tv is on and then dinner and then suddenly its already midnight so bed time…

    This happens like all the time and I kept wanting to change but I’m finding it quite hard. I’m not sure because I’m too comfortable at home so as soon as I get back I just get lazy. There was a period of time I’ve been really good like did an hr exercise then dinner then relax, but I found that I had to not sit on the sofa as soon as I get home, once I sat down, the day is over pretty much.

    Anyway I think I have come to the conclusion that my to-do list is sooo long that I don’t even think I will be able to get half of the list done in a year’s time. So I am just scaling it down and just try to focus on the bit that is really important and then just enjoy whatever I decide to do and not think too much about it.

    So I don’t think u should feel that bad about it but just enjoy whatever ur doing now and just be happy and take it step by step. U only just moved into ur new place!! U got too high expectation for yourself!

    • harriparf 09/07/2012 at 21:36 #

      Thanks!!

      I’ve started a star chart to help me along, smaller manageable goals with an ultimate one at the end! πŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Today: The Star Chart « I Did That - 07/07/2012

    […] Today: The let down (harriparf.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookDiggLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

Leave a Reply

