Today: Promising Progress

15 Jul

Today I checked up on my star chart expecting there to be like no progress since my initial 3 stars i had last week.

I was pleasantly surprised, even though I am the one putting the stars down, It was still nice to properly look at it and realise “yeah, I’ve done that in a week!”

My biggest achievement has been getting over my exercise starting phobia thingy. Ok it’s not really a phobia, but It is pretty hard to just get started when you haven’t done any for a while. I have managed to do the pilates DVD. Not the biggest achievement in the World, but since I have been ill (as well as Charlie too!) We haven’t really been able to do much.

Although I’ve been keeping the calories down from 2000, I haven’t hit the 1500 mark more than twice. 😦

Next week (ie, from tomorrow) Charlie and I will be starting this 5K training  which I am determined to do rain or shine. It is just a case of not getting settled when I get home from work, which is hard because that’s what you want to do when you get home from work isn’t it? Just chill out and relax. So I am going to have to get my running stuff ready on the sofa before I go to work, so I can just get changed, get Charlie and go! It’s a run for 1 min and walk for 2 mins. Then repeat 5 times. This is different to what I was doing before because it’s outside!!

ooooOOOOOooooo

Shocking isn’t it. I’ve been looking for 10k races in my local area (Gloucestershire/Cheltenham) but there aren’t any at the moment, I think that would give me real motivation to run and train. but I really have to be able to run for 30 mins before I can arguably say I can run. How do people keep their motivation up whilst they are running?! I mean I’ve heard of people saying they have a goal to run to, or they just don’t get bored, but I’m just so aware of everything around me and how fast I’m going, and how long I’ve been running for that I just can’t be arsed to go on. It’s a crappy reason but It’s just like I hit a wall, 9 mins in, that means I can’t go any further whether I want to or not.

Who knows. I’ll see what happens next week. I need Charlie in on this one, so I hope that he’s feeling better!

One Response to “Today: Promising Progress”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Today: The First Time « I Did That - 21/07/2012

    […] Today: Promising Progress (harriparf.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookDiggLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

Leave a Reply

