Today: Maintaining Positivity

31 Jul

I’ve hit another plateau of sorts, had a weigh in on Monday to find I had gained 4lbs. Which is hard to comprehend when I have been good with diet and the running this past week, So I’m on a bit of a downer from that, but as I’m not measuring my progress on weight really this time, It’s just a little set back.

Charlie and I have managed our runs, week 1 has been completed, and according to our training on http://www.therunningbug.co.uk, tomorrow, (Wednesday) is run 1 min walk 1min, repeat 10 times, last week was the same last wednesday except you only repeated it 8 times! That was a killer.

i’m happy we are sticking to it, however I am starting to feel it in my calf muscles. Charlie is 6ft 4ins so his legs are about 8meters long and I can match the impact pace of his feet, just not the stride length. That will be my next challenge to work on when I can manage the 5k.

Week 6 will be the point where I will be hitting running the mile without stopping (10 mins continuous run), it will be interesting to see where I am when it comes to then! My quickest mile I ever ran was 8mins 49 secs, which was a one-off!

Here is the training Charlie and I are completing (courtesy of therunningbug.co.uk) :

Mon Tues Wed Thur Fri Sat Sun
Week 1 Run 1 min, walk 2 mins – repeat 5 times Walk 5 mins Run 1 min, walk 1 min – repeat 8 times Rest day Rest Day Run 2 mins, walk 1 min
– repeat 5 times
Rest day
Week 2 Run 2 mins, walk 3 mins – repeat 4 times Rest Day Run 1 min, walk 1 min – repeat 10 times Rest Day Rest Day Run 3 mins, walk 4 mins
– repeat 3 times
Rest Day
Week 3 Run 2 mins, walk 2 mins – repeat 5 times Walk 5 mins Run 3 mins, walk 3 mins – repeat 3 times Rest Day Rest Day Run 3 mins, walk 2 mins
– repeat 3 times
Rest Day
Week 4 Run 4 mins, walk 3 mins – repeat 3 times Walk 5 mins Run 1 min, walk 1 min – repeat 12 times Rest Day Rest Day Run 5 mins, walk 3 mins
– repeat 3 times
Rest Day
Week 5 Run 7 mins, walk 3 mins – repeat 3 times Walk 5 mins Run 3 mins, walk 2 mins – repeat 3 times Rest Day Rest Day Run 8 mins, walk 3 mins
– repeat 3 times
Rest Day
Week 6 Run 8 mins, walk 2 mins – repeat 3 times Walk 5 mins Run 10 mins, walk 4 mins – repeat 2 times Rest Day Rest Day Run 1 min, walk 1 min
– repeat 12 times
Rest Day
Week 7 Run 12 mins, walk 3 mins – repeat 2 times Walk 5 mins Run 3 mins, walk 1 min – repeat 8 times Rest Day Rest Day Run 15 mins, walk 5 mins
– repeat 2 times
Rest Day
Week 8 Run 15 mins, walk 5 mins – repeat 2  times Walk 5 mins Run 2milesand record your time. Rest Day Rest Day Run 1 min, walk 1 min
– repeat 12 times
Rest Day
Week 9 Run 7 mins, walk 2 mins – repeat 4  times Walk 5 mins Run 3 mins, walk 1 min – repeat 8 times Rest Day Rest Day Run 16 mins, walk 3 min
– repeat 2 times
Rest Day
Week 10 Run 15 mins, walk 2 mins – repeat 2  times Walk 5 mins Run 10 mins, walk 2 mins – repeat 3 times Rest Day Rest Day Run 16 mins, walk 2 mins
– repeat 2 times
Rest Day

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s all moving forward!

We are going to have to find somewhere else to run soon as the park we go round is getting a bit small! Thinking about Pittville Park in Cheltenham, but that is a little bit of a walk from us.

It’s been a good week for wedding planning as well! We’ve decided on a layout and possible background for our invitations. It’s progress at least 🙂

The flat is going well, I have taken up baking, Which is good because I can minimize/neglect any oil and all the rubbish that the shops add in! I’m pretty good at making muffins to.

It’s also now the F1 break. I’m going to be at a loss for 4 weeks! Except for my holiday, where I will be lazy 🙂

Keep going everyone, I’ve managed it, ups and downs I just have to keep looking forward, it’s small changes that makes the biggest difference! (I’ve stopped having crisps, butter in my sandwiches, and sugar in my tea!) and fruit as snacks, very filling!!!

Does anyone have any tips to what they have read? Please comment!

 

Leave a Reply

