Today: Begin Again

14 Oct

Well I finally admitted that I needed help with my running.

So I got it!

About 8 weeks ago I completed a beginners running course (like a couch to 5k) with a 5k graduating time of 36:05 (according to the Nike running app!).

I’ve been hooked since!

I’ve now become a regular at the Redway Runners in Milton Keynes, whacking out a 5k every Monday and up to 8 every Thursday. I now also regularly take part in park runs as well. It’s a great feeling.

I really do enjoy it a lot, so much so that I’ve even signed up to do a 10k in November, and a longer event in March next year! Very exciting times for me, as it means I have something that I can work towards again.

I completed my first solo training run for it this Sunday just gone, and it was a killer. I’d only planned to do about 7k, but I needed up getting lost and then a bridge was closed and it was all a bit of a mess. So I ended up running 8.77k… No I wasn’t running my 5k split times but I was maintaining it, I averaged under 8min a km and If I didn’t have to stop to keep trying to figure out where to go, it would have been done quicker as well.

I know Nike does it pause run when you stop, but it adds about 15 seconds onto your time… And I got very lost….

Brilliant way to explore the new area though, and it’s a good excuse to get me out the house. Fighting all the mental knock backs and all that. It really is a brilliant medicine, exercise, personal development and the outdoors!

I have to get over running in the rain… I’ve sweated hair dye down my face so I must be able to cope with a bit of drizzle. It is England, after all.

So this week? We’ll long run Thursday again, I’m getting up early to push I out a morning exercise routine. Gently waking up a bit earlier everyday to get to the gym and do it… Imaging a morning swim and an evening run! Glorious!!!!

Night time now though, glass of water to sleep on and an early alarm….. *yawn*

Leave a Reply

