Today: Training Sucks

26 Jan

Training sucks

Like really.

Especially when you have never done the thing you are training towards before. I’ll use my half marathon stuff as an example.

I run my long runs on a Sunday. Last week I managed just over 5 miles in just over an hour. I was walking on Air, there wasn’t a parking ticket in the world that could bring me down. I was so elated that I was actually looking forward to running again on Tuesday, as Mondays for me are rest days.

Bring on Tuesday. I head to the gym, stocked with a plan: Running for three songs and walking for one, for an hour and 15 mins in total. 10 mins longer than the constant running I did the Sunday just gone.

But alas, my body had other plans. After 1km my ankles felt like they were strapped between splints. I normally can run through most things, as the first km of anything always sucks. It’s the mental game. You find your rhythm or you never get very far. I just could not find my rhythm. At all!

It got to the mile mark at 1.6km, and I had had enough, I couldn’t even stretch it out. It was clear that I was still suffering from my weekend run, and it left me SO dejected.

I felt like a huge failure, I was doubting whether I could ever run 13.1 miles when after one I was struggling on a treadmill of all things. It was clunky, it wasn’t smooth there was no easy rhythm found.

So I reflected again. Wenesday is a full on rest day, I have time set aside from 7-10 to do the least aerobic exercise I can think of (sitting around.. not doing much) and before that after work I tidy things up and set up for the rest of the week. I was hating myself, I mean, I’ve done more, why couldn’t I do that again?

That’s when it kind of hit me: Training sucks.

That was kind of an acceptance I think, I know it’s going to suck, so how could it get any worse? I Haven’t failed if I make it out the door, I don’t like failing so as long as I make it out the door I’m one step/mile closer than I would have been if I didn’t.

I’m not going to put my body through physical pain, I’m not going to injure myself because that’s worse. Injury sucks as much as training except you’re energised all the time and can’t do anything about it.

Training sucks for 45 – 90 mins a day. And that’s only three times a week.

So tomorrow I will do a steady pace timed run. If I feel good I will do 1:20, if not at least an hour – no matter the intervals. But I will make it out the door, because training only sucks when you’re doing it, and you’re never doing it for very long.

My achievement Saturday was to add an extra 2 miles onto my parkrun distance, my parkrun time sucked. But I finished. 40 mins… Which is actually the pace in aiming for! Just gotta keep this momentum up, especially after a slightly indulgent day off today.

Training can’t get worse than it already is, i mean, you could not be doing anything, right?

4 Responses to “Today: Training Sucks”

  1. geralynwichers 27/01/2015 at 01:40 #

    I believe it was Mohammed Ali who said ‘i hated every moment of training’ but told himself to bear a few moments of training to be a champion forever. Wish i could remember the full quote–its a gooder. Best wishes!

    • harriparf 27/01/2015 at 12:17 #

      Indeed! It has certainly added a sense of calmness to my workouts, my training no longer scares me and my goal inspires me!

  2. Cass 27/01/2015 at 13:43 #

    Best line I’ve heard for run training – “even if you have to walk sections you’re still moving faster than all the couch potatoes combined” 😀

    • harriparf 27/01/2015 at 13:44 #

      Totally!!! And most of them couldn’t walk it anyway…

Leave a Reply

