Today: The wedding skincare

5 Jun

Hello!

Well I’ve suddenly got the wedding prep panic with just over 60 days to go (Ah!)

For the past few days I have been religiously sticking to a facial plan, to try and keep breakouts down, and make my skin as clear and pretty as I can make it!

June2013 282

Here are my tools of the trade as such, the full shabang! I don’t use everything once a day, but I use some twice a day.

Here is my routine:

Step one

June2013 283

This is my face wash (not scrub) and a scrubbing pad, step one! Ive never had an experience with a scrub that didn’t end in something going in my eye or me using half the bottle to feel clean, so the face wash and the scrubbing pad allows me to be as gentle or rough as I like, depending on if I’m wearing makeup or not. Once I’ve scrubbed the day of my face, I use a flannel to clean off the soap, none of this splashing face stuff! Luke warm water, and wipe off. Means I don’t miss anything.

Step two

June2013 284

Step two is the face mask. Not to be done everyday, but once a week. I love this No.7 mask! Simple and warming, I put about half a brazil but size blob, and rub in from the nose out, round the eyes, forehead and t zone, before doing cheeks and chin. Then again with the flannel and warm water and wipe off. Skin feels soft afterwards. I would avoid using it if you have any broken skin, as it can cause irritation.

Step three

June2013 285

Step three is the seaweed cleanser from the body shop. I use this to cool my face after the scrub and the face mask, I put a pea size amount on a cotton pad and work from the nose round the eyes, t zone, cheeks and chin. I will brush lightly round the eyes to take the flaky bits of eye make up and dust off. This is a very gentle clean and I would recommend if you are feeling a bit flustered and hit after being in the sun!

Step four

June2013 286

Step four is the camomile eye make up remover. Less is more with this product from the body shop, a couple of drops on a cotton pad and ensure you clean up and down the lashes. Works gently and well. Key purchase in my book!

Step five

June2013 287

Step five is the good old Clearasil deep cleansing toner. Gets all the nitty gritty dirt out, try not to go over the eyes as it stings a bit! Make sure you follow just below the jaw line as well and a sweep over and behind the ears wouldn’t go amiss as well! Only about 3 drops needed on a cotton pad again. A little goes a long way.

Step six

June2013 288

Step six, and the final one is the moisturiser, I used to be a garnier girl until I found this! Feels a bit thick to go on at first but the after effect is really really nice. Simple replenishing rich moisturiser. A good investment!

I tend to use the toner when I wake up as well, especially when it’s hot! I will only use a tiny bit of moisturiser in the morning as well, if I’m only wearing mascara anyway. If I decide on a full face of makeup I use the body shop primer. But the makeup will be for another blog post 🙂

In regards to showers, I will do my routine, except the moisturising. I have an old face scrub (boo), seaweed from the body shop, that I use to wash any shampoo and stuff off my face that may have got there. Just to try and stop my skin from drying out.

My skin feels amazing right now and I’m sure I will update you if I discover any other stages. But out of all the prep that’s going on, it’s nice to have a bit of routine to go on, which, when it comes to wedding nerves, can be very reassuring!

Leave a comment